About Interreg V

INTERREG is a regional programme of the European Union (EU) for the advancement of cross-border cooperation in which also non-EU states can participate. The means are provided by the European Fund for Regional Development (EFRD), one of the structural funds of the EU that finances the objective “European Territorial Cooperation” (ETC). Its task is the elimination of inequality between the different regions and the strengthening of the economic, social and territorial cohesion within the EU.

The funding period 2014-2020 is fully centered on the Europe 2020 Strategy which was adopted by the EU in 2010. The strategy is to lead the EU towards an intelligent, sustainable and integrative economy characterized by high levels of employment and production as well as by a marked social and territorial cohesion. The activities promoted by the European Fund for Regional Development are also subject to this goal.

In order to enhance the efficiency of such activities the regional funding programmes are obliged to choose a strictly limited number of appropriate thematic objectives and to restrict their funds to a few priorities. At least 80% of the EFRD-funds have to be concentrated on a maximum number of four of the eleven thematic objectives named in Article 9 of REGULATION (EU) No. 1303/2013.

The thematic objectives chosen by INTERREG for the funding period 2014-2020 are the following:

  • 1: Strengthening research, technological development and innovation (investment priorities 1a and 1b);
  • 8: Promoting sustainable and quality employment and supporting labour mobility (investment priority 8 cross-border cooperation)
  • 6: Preserving and protecting the environment and promoting resource efficiency (investment priorities 6c, 6d, 6e);
  • 4: Supporting the shift towards a low-carbon economy in all sectors (investment priority 4c);
  • 11: Enhancing institutional capacity of public authorities and stakeholders and efficient public administration (investment priority 11 cross-border cooperation).

These selected thematic objectives as well as the relevant investment priorities were integrated into the following content priority axes which give the programme its distinctive profile:

  • Competitiveness, innovation, employment and education
  • Environment, energy and transport
  • Administrative cooperation and civic commitment

More information on the programme objectives is available in German: Förderbereiche und Ziele.

With the selected thematic objectives and investment priorities the programme makes effective contributions to the EU strategy for intelligent, sustainable and integrative growth and its core objectives. There are funded activities for the promotion of education, research and development and of regional competitiveness as well as activities for the reduction of greenhouse gases and for the improvement of energy efficiency. This concentration is also in line with the national strategies of the contributing countries in the programme area of the EU. Furthermore, it takes into account concerns of the Swiss New Regional Policy and the government programme 2013-2017 of the Principality of Liechtenstein.

The INTERREG V programme area Alpenrhein-Bodensee-Hochrhein is a border region, comprising with Germany, Austria, Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein four sovereign national states. The programme area contains the following regions:

  • Germany: Bodenseekreis, Landkreis Konstanz, Landkreis Waldshut, Schwarzwald-Baar-Kreis, Landkreis Ravensburg, Landkreis Sigmaringen, Landkreis Tuttlingen, Landkreis Lindau, Landkreis Oberallgäu, Landkreis Unterallgäu, kreisfreie Stadt Kempten, kreisfreie Stadt Memmingen and newly associated Landkreis Lörrach, Landkreis Ostallgäu and kreisfreie Stadt Kaufbeuren.
  • Austria: Land Vorarlberg, comprising the sub-regions „Bludenz-Bregenzer Wald“ and “Rheintal-Bodenseegebiet”.
  • Switzerland: Canton Aargau, Canton Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Canton Appenzell Innerrhoden, Canton Glarus, Canton Graubünden, Canton Schaffhausen, Canton St. Gallen, Canton Thurgau and Canton Zürich,
  • Principality of Liechtenstein.

Find out more about the programme area: Programmgebiet.

For project funding there can apply private persons, legal persons, public agencies as well as other institutions from the programme area. Funding is available on the EU side (EFRD) for EU project partners and on the Swiss side (CH funding) for Swiss project partners.

The project partners have to agree on one lead partner from their own ranks that represents the project internally and externally. Its part consists in gathering reports and billing documents from its partners and in internally and externally assuming the responsibility for compliance with the funding contract.

The implementation of the programme is carried out by the Joint Secretariat of the programme partners located at the Regierungspräsidium Tübingen. Simultaneously, there exist national network offices in Switzerland (Canton St. Gallen), in Vorarlberg (Amt der Vorarlberger Landesregierung), in Bavaria (Regierung von Schwaben) and in the Principality of Liechtenstein (Regierungskanzlei) as primary contact points for persons interested in projects.

The organizational structure of the programme is clearly articulated and involves the following institutions:

  • Monitoring Committee
  • Steering Committee
  • Managing Authority
  • Joint Secretariat
  • Certifying Authority
  • Network Offices
  • Audit Authority

On Dec. 15, 2014, the European Commission accepted the programme. About 30 projects are already under way and shall, if there are no objections in particular instances, get their approval in the session of the steering committee on November 9 and 10, 2015.